PITTSBURGH, PA —  Last night, the International Association for Food Protection (IAFP) announced its award winners at its annual meeting’s Awards Banquet.

IAFP presented awards recognizing excellence in food safety to the following organizations and individuals.

IAFP Fellow Award

The IAFP Fellow Award is awarded to professionals who have contributed to IAFP and its affiliates with distinction over an extended period of time. 

This year’s recipients are David Blomquist, DFB Consulting, Hastings, MN; James Dickson, Iowa State University; Lynn McMullen, University of Alberta, Edmonton, CA; George-John Nychas, Agricultural University of Athens, Greece; and Manan Sharma, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Beltsville, MD.

President’s Lifetime Achievement Award

Katherine M. J. Swanson, KMJ Swanson Food Safety Inc. (retired), Mendota Heights, MN, was awarded the President’s Lifetime Achievement Award. This award, given at the discretion of the IAFP President, recognizes an individual who has made a lasting impact on Advancing Food Safety Worldwide® through a lifetime of professional achievements in food protection.

Honorary Life Membership Award

The Honorary Life Membership Award was presented to Zeb Blanton, SGS North America, residing in Longwood, FL; Leon Gorris, Food Safety Futures, Nijmegen, Netherlands; Dale Grinstead, Diversey (retired), residing in Highlands, NC; Paul Hall, AIV Microbiology and Food Safety Consultants, Inc., Lakeland, FL; Elliot Ryser, Michigan State University, East Lansing; and Edith Wilkin, Laprino Foods (retired), residing in Castle Rock, CO. This award recognizes IAFP Members for their dedication to the high ideals and objectives of IAFP and for their service to the Association.

Harry Haverland Citation Award

The Harry Haverland Citation Award was awarded to Francisco Diez-Gonzalez, University of Georgia, Griffin, for his years of devotion to the ideals and objectives of the Association.

Sponsored by Eurofins

Food Safety Innovation Award

bioMérieux, Hazelwood, MO, received the Food Safety Innovation Award, given for the development of Predictive Diagnostics, its innovative new approach to food safety and quality testing.

Sponsored by Walmart

International Leadership Award

The International Leadership Award was presented to Arie Havelaar, University of Florida, Gainesville, for his dedication to the high ideals and objectives of IAFP and for promotion of the mission of the Association in countries outside of the United States and Canada.

Sponsored by Food Safety Net Services

Food Safety Award

Ann Marie McNamara, U.S. Foods, Hoffman Estates, IL, received the Food Safety Award in recognition of a long history of outstanding contributions to food safety research and education.

Sponsored by Consumer Brands Association (CBA)

Frozen Food Foundation Research Award

The Frozen Food Foundation Freezing Research Award was presented to Jeff Farber, University of Guelph, Ontario, Canada. This award honors an individual, group, or organization for preeminence and outstanding contributions in research that impacts food safety attributes of freezing.

Sponsored by the Frozen Food Foundation

Maurice Weber Laboratorian Award

The Maurice Weber Laboratorian Award was presented to Kali Kniel, University of Delaware, Newark, to recognize her service for outstanding contributions in the laboratory and recognizing a commitment to the development of innovative and practical analytical approaches in support of food safety.

Sponsored by The Fred and Elizabeth Weber Trust

Larry Beuchat Young Researcher Award

Yaohua Feng, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, was presented the Larry Beuchat Young Researcher Award. This award is presented to a young researcher who has shown outstanding ability and professional promise in the early years of his or her career.

Sponsored by bioMérieux

James M. Jay Diversity in Food Safety Award

The James M. Jay Diversity in Food Safety Award was presented to Haley Oliver, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN. This award recognizes an individual who has made exceptional contributions to enhancing equity, diversity, and inclusion in the field of food safety.

Sponsored by 3M Food Safety

Ewen C.D. Todd Control of Foodborne Illness Award

Darin Detwiler, Northeastern University, residing in Los Angeles, CA, is the recipient of the Ewen C.D. Todd Control of Foodborne Illness Award. This award recognizes an individual for dedicated and exceptional contributions to the reduction of risks of foodborne illness.

Sponsored by Marler Clark

Sanitarian Award

Charles Giambrone, Rochester Midland Corporation, New Hope, PA, received the Sanitarian Award to recognize his dedication and exceptional service to the profession of sanitarian, serving the public and the food industry.

Sponsored by Ecolab Inc.

Elmer Marth Educator Award

The Elmer Marth Educator Award was presented to Lawrence Goodridge, University of Guelph, Ontario, CA, to recognize his dedication and exceptional contributions to the profession of the educator.

Sponsored by Nelson-Jameson, Inc.

Harold Barnum Industry Award

Yvonne Chan Masters, John B. Sanfilippo & Son, Inc., Elgin, IL, is the recipient of the Harold Barnum Industry Award. This award recognizes her outstanding service to IAFP, the public, and the food industry.

Sponsored by MERCK Animal Health

Black Pearl Award

IAFP selected HelloFresh as the 2022 recipient of the prestigious Black Pearl Award.

This honor is given annually to one company for its efforts in advancing food safety and quality through consumer programs, employee relations, educational activities, adherence to standards, and support of the goals and objectives of IAFP.

Sponsored by F&H Food Equipment Company

Gavel Presentation to the Incoming President

Ruth Petran presents incoming president Michelle Danyluk with the IAFP gavel. Photo by Jonan Pilet

 Association members saw their organization’s presidential gavel change hands yet again on the final evening of the conference at the annual awards banquet.

Incoming president, Michelle Danyluk of the University of Florida accepted the gavel from outgoing president Dr. Ruth Petran of the Acheson Group and Ruth Petran Consulting, LLC.

(To sign up for a free subscription to Food Safety News, click here)