The International Association for Food Protection (IAFP) has extended the nomination deadline for the Ewen C.D. Todd Control of Foodborne Illness Award.

Ewen C.D. Todd Control of Foodborne Illness Award includes a $1,500 honorarium and is presented to an individual for dedicated and exceptional contributions to the reduction of risks to foodborne illness. The deadline for nominations is now March 10, 2020.

The 2019 recipient was Tanya Roberts.

The following are IAFP’s qualifications for nominees:

  • Be a non-student Member in good standing at the time of nomination and during the IAFP Annual Meeting who has had an outstanding career in foodborne disease investigation, prevention and control.  
  • Recipients can be employed in or retired from government, academia or industry.  
  • IAFP Executive Board Members and IAFP Awards Committee Members are not eligible. 

The criteria for nominations:

  • Career highlights — length of service and positions held in their profession(s) — Provide a resume or summary of positions held related to foodborne disease, epidemiology, laboratory, prevention and control strategies, including activities that highlight the nominee’s dedication to the profession and that demonstrate high personal standards.  
  • Contributions to leadership in research pertaining to foodborne disease prevention and control — Provide specific examples of outbreak investigations, case-control and laboratory studies, and other epidemiological studies; willingness to collaborate with peers in a multidisciplinary way; research history on foodborne illness identification, prevention, control and understanding human behavior relating risks of foodborne disease; sharing research data with peers at scientific meetings. Recognition by colleagues could be demonstrative of achievements.
  • Publications in peer-reviewed scientific journals, book chapters, and educational materials — Provide a listing of publications, presentations, and other ways to share information with scientific and lay audiences.  
  • Participation in IAFP activities — Provide membership history and listing of past and present involvement in IAFP committees and PDGs, Annual or Affiliate Meeting attendance and program participation (e.g., speaker, symposium organizer, etc.) and other IAFP activities.  
  • Peer assessment of nominee — Provide no less than two and no more than three letters of support* from professional peers in addition to a nomination cover letter. 

“Other activities or characteristics of the nominee that are not specifically covered under the above criteria may be provided to emphasize the nominee’s dedication to food protection and demonstrate the nominee’s high personal standards,” according to IAFP’s nomination guideline.

You are not required to be an association (IAFP) member to submit nominations for most of the awards. Nominations for all awards, unless otherwise indicated, can be completed through the IAFP website. Or nominate a worthy colleague for IAFP’s 2020 awards by submitting an email or as a PDF to Mailed copies sent to the IAFP office or to any other email address will not be accepted. Questions about this award can be directed to Susan Smith at 

More information on the Ewen C.D. Todd Control of Foodborne Illness Award can be found here.

A list of all IAFP awards can be found here.

(To sign up for a free subscription to Food Safety News, click here)