Header graphic for print

Food Safety News

Breaking news for everyone's consumption

Allergen Alert: GFS Sugar, Coffee Creamer Mix Up

Diamond Crystal Brands of Savannah, Ga. has issued an allergen alert because of undeclared milk in 12-ounce GFS sugar canisters that were filled in error with non-dairy coffee creamer.

gfssugar-320.jpg

A customer inquiry prompted the recall.

Non-dairy coffee creamer contains sodium caseinate, which is a milk derivative. People who have an allergy or severe sensitivity to milk run the risk of a serious or life-threatening allergic reaction if they consume the product.

The items, which were shipped in 24-can cases labeled GFS® non-dairy coffee creamer, include:

Case label: GFS Non-Dairy Coffee Creamer – 24/12 ounce – Lot G293 B located on the side of the case.

Canister label: GFS Sugar – Lot G293 B located on the bottom of the canister.

Customers who received the recalled product will be contacted directly by a Diamond Crystal Brands customer service representative. Implicated product is to be quarantined for final disposition by Diamond Crystal Brands Inc.

For more information contact Diamond Crystal Brands Inc. at 800-654-5115 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. ET.

© Food Safety News